Skip to main content

An Official Vermont Government Website

Vermont State Logo

Important Message: Do we have your correct address? Keep it and all your contact information up to date so we can get important information about changes to your health insurance. Please check your information online or call us at 855-899-9600.

Instructions for Direct-Enrolled Customers

The American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) gives more premium tax credits to more people – as long as you enroll through a state marketplace (like Vermont Health Connect). To get the tax credits, Vermonters must enroll through Vermont Health Connect. Are you enrolled in coverage directly through Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Vermont or MVP Health Care? Eligible customers can transfer a plan to Vermont Health Connect and get these new premium tax credits

Group health plans can’t be transferred. You can’t get premium tax credits if you have an offer of affordable job-based insurance, Medicaid or Medicare.

When you transfer your direct-enrolled plan to Vermont Health Connect, you will keep the same health plan. Any payments you’ve already made towards your deductible and max-out-of-pocket limits will transfer with you—so there’s nothing to lose.

Vermonters with much higher incomes may now qualify for tax credits when they sign up for Vermont Health Connect.

Who's covered You may get lower costs if your income in under:
  Single $105,770
  Couple $211,540
  Parent and Child(ren) $204,137
  Family $297,215

The amount they save can be quite large.

For example:
A household with the following people covered: That earns: May save this amount every month through Vermont Health Connect:
  Single $60,000 $324
  Single $80,000 $182
  Couple $75,000 $967
  Couple $150,000 $435
  Parent and Child(ren) $75,000 $914 or more
  Parent and Child(ren) $150,000 $383
  Family $100,000 $1,396 or more
  Family $200,000 $688

Ready to transfer your plan?

The sooner you enroll through Vermont Health Connect, the more tax credits you can get. 

If you’re ready to switch, here’s what to do: 

Step 1: Make sure your premium payments are up to date. Vermont Health Connect cannot transfer your plan if you have an outstanding balance.

Step 2: Decide whether to apply online or by phone. 

Step 3: Login, or create an account, and fill out an application. Or, call us at 1-855-899-9600 to apply by phone.

  • When we ask if you want to apply for financial help, here are your choices:
    • If you ask for financial help, you won’t have to wait until you file next year’s taxes to get premium tax credits.
      • You will receive a notice telling you your eligibility under the new rules. You will then have the option to apply your tax credits as a discount on your monthly bill.
    • If you don’t ask for financial help, you will get all your premium tax credits when you file federal income taxes.

Step 4: After you apply, call us at 1-855-899-9600 to finish transferring your enrollment to Vermont Health Connect.

  • You will continue to pay your insurance company. Look for instructions from them on how to do so or visit our Payment FAQ.