Important Message: To get health insurance, you must sign up during an enrollment period. Vermont Health Connect has a Special Enrollment Period open now through May 15, and uninsured Vermonters can enroll in a qualified health plan during this time. Under the American Rescue Plan Act, Vermonters can get more financial help when they enroll through Vermont Health Connect. Vermonters who have insurance directly through Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Vermont or MVP Health Care® can transfer their plan to Vermont Health Connect now to get premium tax credits. Vermonters who are eligible for Medicaid can enroll at any time.
If you have insurance through Vermont Health Connect and have had certain life changes, we need to know. A change in income or family situation can impact your choices and the amount of financial help you can get. If you get financial help from Vermont Health Connect and you don’t report a life change, you could owe money to the IRS when you file your federal income taxes.
Common Life Changes We Need To Know About
• Getting married or divorced
• Having a baby or adopting a child
• A change in income
• Getting health coverage through a job or a program like Medicare or Medicaid
• Changing where you live
• A change in disability status
• Gaining or losing a dependent
• Becoming pregnant
Not sure if you should report your life change? When in doubt, please report it. It’s important to report any major life events to Vermont Health Connect within 30 days. Vermonters who have Medicaid coverage should report major life events to Vermont Health Connect within 10 days.
Log into your Vermont Health Connect account to report these changes online, or call us at 1-855-899-9600.