If my college or university offers health insurance, can I still apply for coverage through Vermont Heath Connect?
Yes. If you are a Vermont resident, you can apply for Medicaid for Children and Adults. You can also get a qualified health plan through Vermont Health Connect, but you must meet certain rules to get financial help. For example:
- You can’t get financial help on your own if you are listed as a dependent on another person’s tax return.
- You can’t get financial help if you are enrolled in a school health insurance plan that meets the standard for minimum essential coverage (MEC). Uninsured students can apply for financial help through Vermont Health Connect.
- You can’t get financial help, or receive Medicaid coverage, if you are an out-of-state student attending school in Vermont.
- You may get financial help if: 1) you are a Vermont resident; 2) you aren’t enrolled in your parents’ health insurance or a school health insurance plan; and 3) you aren’t claimed as a dependent on anyone’s taxes
Don’t forget—students can stay on their parent’s insurance until age 26!
I’m going to school outside of Vermont. What are my insurance choices?
If you are a Vermont resident, you can apply for Vermont Medicaid. Please check to see if there are doctors near your school that accept Vermont Medicaid coverage.
If your parents have a qualified health plan, you can keep your parent’s health insurance as long as you're under the age of 26. Make sure your parent’s insurance has in-network providers close to where you go to school.
You can apply for insurance in the state where you go to school. If you are a dependent on someone’s taxes (like your parents), you’ll still be a member of your parent’s tax household, even though you are applying separately. Learn more about getting insurance when you go to school in another state.
I am on my parent's health plan and I turn 26 years old this year. Can I stay on my parent's health plan after I turn 26?
No. The Affordable Care Act allows children to stay on their parents’ health insurance until they turn 26. If your parents are enrolled in a plan through Vermont Health Connect, you may be able to stay on your parents’ health insurance until the end of the calendar year. If your household changes health plans after your 26th birthday and before the end of the calendar year, you will need to enroll separately. Learn more about qualifying events.
Children who are dependent and disabled can stay on their parents’ health insurance after age 26.
What if no one claims me as a dependent?
If you do not live with your parents, you can apply for your own coverage. You’ll get help based on your income. Your parents’ income won’t be counted.
If you live with your parents, you can still apply for your own coverage. But if you are younger than 21, you may need to include your parents and their income on your application.
I’m 18, and my parents claim me as a tax dependent. Will Vermont Health Connect help me to pay for my own insurance?
Sometimes. If you live with your parents you can apply for health insurance with them. Your family may get financial help as a household, but you can’t get financial help by yourself.
I’m 18, and I file taxes independently. Will Vermont Health Connect help me to pay for my own insurance?
Maybe. If you are a Vermont resident, at least 18 years old and no one claims you as a dependent, you can apply through Vermont Health connect on your own. If eligible, you may be able to get financial help.