Skip to main content

An Official Vermont Government Website

Vermont State Logo

Important Message: To get health insurance, you must sign up during an enrollment period. Vermont Health Connect has a Special Enrollment Period open now through October 1, and uninsured Vermonters can enroll in a qualified health plan during this time. Under the American Rescue Plan Act, Vermonters can get more financial help when they enroll through Vermont Health Connect. Vermonters who have insurance directly through Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Vermont or MVP Health Care® can transfer their plan to Vermont Health Connect now to get premium tax credits.  Vermonters who are eligible for Medicaid can enroll at any time.

Filing Taxes

Filing 2020 Taxes? 

Here’s information to Help You Fill out Forms 8965 and 8962:

Second Lowest-Cost Silver Plan (2020 Benchmark Plans)
Coverage Level Monthly Premium
Single $661.70
Couple $1,323.40
Parent and Child(ren) $1,277.08
Family $1,859.38

Premium Tax Credits

To find your premium tax credit, use the table above to find the premium for the second lowest cost silver plan you could have had during that tax year. You might need tax tables for a different year if you’re filing after April 15.

Unaffordable Coverage Exemption

To find out if you were offered unaffordable coverage by your employer, use the table below to find the premium for the lowest cost bronze plan you could have had through Vermont Health Connect during that tax year.

Lowest-Cost Bronze Plan (For Affordability Exemption)
Coverage Level Monthly Premium
Single $475.86
Couple $951.73
Parent and Child(ren) $918.42
Family $1,337.18

Your Health Coverage May Affect Your Income Taxes

  • You’ll need to provide additional information when you file your federal income tax return.
  • You may have to complete one or two new federal tax forms.
  • If you were in enrolled in a qualified health plan through Vermont Health Connect for all or part of the year, you will receive a 1095- A form from Vermont Health Connect.
  • If you were enrolled in Medicaid coverage for all or part of the year, you will receive a 1095-B form from Vermont Health Connect and/or Green Mountain Care.
  • If you were enrolled in employer-sponsored coverage for all or part of the year, you will receive a 1095-C form from that employer.

1095 Corrections

  • Your 1095-A is based on the information you reported in your Vermont Health Connect application and your coverage during the calendar year. Read your 1095-A carefully.  If you think your Form 1095-A is not correct, call us toll-free at 1-855-899-9600.
  • If a change is made to your account after you get your 1095-A, but before the end of the calendar year, we will send you an updated 1095-A form.

If you disagree with your updated 1095-A, you can download the Request for Reconsideration – IRS Form 1095-A Correction form, fill it out, and mail  to: 

Vermont Health Connect, 280 State Drive, Waterbury, VT 05671-8100