Do I have to have insurance?
Federal law requires all Americans to have health insurance. Vermonters may be eligible for public programs or financial assistance to help pay for their care through Vermont Health Connect. People who do not have health insurance may have to pay a federal fee when they file their taxes. For the 2018 tax year, the penalty is $695 per adult, $347.50 per child or 2.5% of annual household income, whichever is greater. For the 2019 tax year, the federal penalty will be $0.
There are some exceptions to this requirement, including individuals who 1) have an income that is low enough that they do not file income taxes; 2) have specific religious beliefs; or 3) are unable to find an affordable plan. You must apply to the federal government directly for an exemption. Learn more about the individual mandate.
How do I apply for an exemption from the individual shared responsibility payment?
Individuals seeking an exemption must apply to the federal government.
You can visit the federal healthcare.gov website to:
- Read an overview of the federal Individual Shared Responsibility Payment
- Find appropriate exemption forms
You can also visit the IRS website to learn more details: