Skip to main content

An Official Vermont Government Website

Vermont State Logo

Important Message

To get health insurance, you must sign up during an enrollment period. Vermont Health Connect has a Special Enrollment Period open now through October 1, and uninsured Vermonters can enroll in a qualified health plan during this time. Under the American Rescue Plan Act, Vermonters can get more financial help when they enroll through Vermont Health Connect. Vermonters who have insurance directly through Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Vermont or MVP Health Care® can transfer their plan to Vermont Health Connect now to get premium tax credits.  Vermonters who are eligible for Medicaid can enroll at any time.

Exemptions

Federal law now requires all Americans to have health insurance.  Most Americans who don't have insurance will have to pay a fee called the Individual Shared Responsibility Payment on their following year's federal taxes. Starting with tax year 2019, the Individual Shared Responsibility Fee is $0.  For tax year 2018 and prior years, you may still have a fee if you did not have coverage.

There are some exceptions to this requirement, including individuals who 1) have an income that is low enough that they do not file income taxes (this equals an annual income of about $10,000 for an individual), 2) have specific religious beliefs, or 3) are unable to find an affordable plan. Please note that many Vermonters qualify for public programs or financial assistance to help pay for their care through Vermont Health Connect. 

You must apply to the federal government directly for an exemption.

You can visit the federal healthcare.gov website to:

You can also visit the IRS website to learn more details: